CPC Star Award honors 2019-11-27T00:03:44+00:00

CPC STAR Award Honors

The CPC Star Award honors those who demonstrate the concern, cooperation, and personal investment needed to conserve our imperiled native plants.

Each year, CPC staff reviews nominees’ contributions they have made over the course of their career to the science and conservation of rare and endangered plants in North America. Such contributions may include: ground breaking scientific discoveries in plant cultivation; extraordinary work in reintroduction of plants; heroic efforts that saved a specific species; exceptionally creative activities resulting in increased community support for plant conservation; and their contributions towards advancing CPC’s mission.


2019  Matthew Albrecht – Missouri Botanical Garden
2018  Ed Schneider – Botanical Research Institute of Texas
2017  Joan Yoshioka – Plant Extinction Prevention Program
 Anita Tiller- Mercer Botanic Gardens
2016  Chipper and Hau’oli Wichman – National Tropical Botanical Garden
2015  Alan Weakley – UNC Chapel Hill
2014  Peter White – Noth Carolina Botanical Garden
2013  Flo Oxley – Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center
 Johnny Randall – North Carolina Botanical Garden
 Jackie Poole – Texas Parks & Wildlife Department, CPC Science Advisory Council
2012  Michael Wall – Rancho Santa Ana Botanic Garden
 Nellie Sugii – Harold L. Lyon Arboretum
2011  Holly Forbes – University of California Botanical Garden
2010  Valerie Pence – Cincinnati Zoo & Botanical Garden
2009  Peter & Mary Ashton – CPC Board of Trustees
 Joyce Maschinski – Fairchild Tropical Botanic Garden
 Peter Raven – Missouri Botanical Garden
2008  Dieter Wilken – Santa Barbara Botanic Garden
2007  Christina Walters – National Laboratory for Genetic Resource Preservation (USDA-ARS)
2006  Bill Brumback – New England Wild Flower Society
2005  Peggy Olwell – USFWS, CPC, NPS, BLM
2004  Don Falk – CPC Founder
 Frank Thibodeau – CPC Founder
2003  David Orr – Waimea Valley
2002  Edward Guerrant – Rae Selling Berry Seed Bank and Plant Conservation Programs
 Kayri Havens-Young – Chicago Botanic Garden
 Mike Maunder – Florida International University
2001  Bobbi Angell – Botanical Illustrator